Year 2: Post 32: And Life Goes On

Hey Queendalers! So if you guessed “Hawks” you guessed right! I couldn’t resist using our loveable mascot as a code word! Next week’s code will be a pretty easy one as well, in honor of it being my final post. But we will get to that later. Onto the post!

Screenshot-3471 (2)

So since Sarah and Ricky rescued Evanglina from Jake and Henria, Ricky has been spending a lot of time with her. It’s almost as if they are trying to make up for eighteen lost years in just a month! I spotted them Thursday afternoon hanging out at McDoogles. They had a nice lunch of burgers and fries and then played some of the arcade games.

Screenshot-3479 (2)

I even caught them playing a game of foosball at one of the tables in the back. Man, it has been so long since I have played that game. I used to love playing it as a kid.

Anyways, Evanglina and Ricky seemed to be having a good time laughing away. That is until he brought up a certain subject,

“So, have you heard from your mother lately?”

That seemed to kill the mood right there.

Evanglina stared down at the foosball table without even looking up.

“Yes. She has called my cellphone a few times. Auntie Sarah also said she called the house a bunch of times this week.”

Screenshot-3481 (2)

“And?” Ricky asked.

Evanglina shrugged. “And nothing. She called and I haven’t spoken to her.”

They are quiet for a few minutes.

“But, don’t you think you should?” Ricky asked.

Evanglina then let go of the table. “No I don’t,” she said, a bit too loudly, causing people to stare. She then turned and walked out the door with Ricky following behind her.

Screenshot-3486 (2)

Then they seated themselves on a bench at the McDoogle playground.

Evanglina sighed. “I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have snapped like that.”

Ricky smiled. “It’s okay. I understand. I shouldn’t have pushed you. I guess I just wanted to know how you were feeling. This whole situation is-”

“Crazy,” Evanglina finished. She then exhaled sharply. “I just wish she had been honest with all of us a long time ago. Then things wouldn’t be like this. I’m just so confused and I don’t know how to feel.”

“She is still your mother though, Evanglina. You need to talk to her eventually.”

Screenshot-3485 (2)

“See, that’s what I don’t get,” Evanglina then said, shaking her head. “My mother lied to you. She lied to you! She didn’t tell you that you were my father and hid it for eighteen years, and she was going to keep hiding it if Aunt Sarah didn’t find out the truth. Why aren’t you angry with her? How can you just forgive her and want me to talk to her?”

Ricky looked at Evanglina quietly for a minute and then sighed. “I am angry, Evanglina, very, but it won’t change anything. What happened, happened and as much as I hate it, I may have been part to blame for why she lied in the first place.”

“Because of you and Aunt Sarah?”

Screenshot-3488 (2)

“Yes, that. I didn’t deal with the situation very well; neither of us did, and we really hurt your mother in the process. I’m not saying all this was okay, but I do see where she might have been coming from. I think she has been carrying what happened between us for all these years.”

Evanglina lifted her shoulders. “Fine. Maybe you’re right. But what about Jake? Ever since she started dating him, she has been all about him and never about me.”

Isn’t that the truth.

“She has taken his word over mine so many times that I have lost count! Every time I tried to tell her about something that he did to me, she would never believe me! Every time he slapped me, cursed at me or even threatened me, she never listened. He even beat me up in front of her twice and she just watched!” Evanglina shook her head. “All that I have gone through because of her, I can’t forgive.”

Wow. If you had ever wondered how Evanglina was feeling about everything, there you have it in a nutshell.

Meanwhile, Ricky just watched her quietly, taking in every word Evanglina said. He then exhaled deeply before opening his mouth to speak again.

“It always amazes me when you talk about it. It makes me so angry that you had to go through all that. I wish I could have been there for you.”

Screenshot-3494 (2)

Evanglina’s face seemed to soften when he said that. “You are now. Just don’t defend her to me.”

“I’m not trying to defend her. I’m not even asking you to forgive her. I just think you should talk to her. Maybe she wouldn’t be hounding you so much if you told her what you just told me.”

Evanglina stared at him for a moment in silence and then nodded. “Maybe you’re right,” she said. “I just don’t know if I am ready to.”

“You don’t have to do it right now, but I think you should eventually. It might help you move on as well.”

Screenshot-3501 (2)

After that they both rose from the bench and Evanglina gave him a hug.

“Hang in there,” he said to her. “Things will work out. You’ll see.”

Evanglina grinned and looking happier than I have ever seen her. “Thanks…dad.”

Ricky then gave her a look of surprise, quickly turning into a wide smile.

A moving moment for sure!

Screenshot-3512 (2)

After leaving McDoogles, they both head to the beach and skip some stones into the ocean. Ricky has a long arm and is able to get his stone to skip several times before it drops underwater. I have tried to do that so many times, but I can only get mine to skip twice.

Screenshot-3518 (2)

They then take a dip in the ocean, splashing around in the water. The sky starts to darken, but they both didn’t seem to care. I can’t help but feel happy for her. Evanglina finally has the family she has always wanted.

Screenshot-2859 (3)

In other news, Claude and Emilie have been spending a lot of time together. I have been seeing an awful lot of them around town. I guess with him leaving, Emilie wanted to get as much time with him as possible. The day before he left, I saw them hanging together at Marcelle Park.

Screenshot-2870 (3)

It was a nice summer day, and I saw them heading to the gazebo facing the lake. Somewhere from nearby, you could even hear music playing softly.

Screenshot-2878 (3)

They both then took a seat on one of the benches and cuddled together. Boy did the two of them look adorable!

Screenshot-2879 (3)

They stay like that for almost thirty minutes and even shared a few passionate kisses before leaving. I think it helped that the park happened to be empty that day. Not that I think either of them would have cared all that much.

Screenshot-2883 (3)

I then saw them later in the evening downtown, coming out of the movie theater. They were all smiles and laughing, making me assume that maybe they saw some romantic comedy.

Screenshot-2892 (3)

It was after that that he dropped her off at home and they had their final farewells. I could tell that Emilie was having a hard time.

“So, when is your flight tomorrow?” she asked.

“About seven in the morning.”

Emilie pulled him toward her. “I wish I could see you off,” she said.

Claude smiled. “Me too, but I don’t know how Claire would react to that.”

“Good point.” She stroked his cheek with her hand. “I’m really going to miss you.”

Screenshot-2893 (3)

Claude gave her a quick peck on her lips. “I’m going to miss you too,” he said. “Terribly.”

“You promise to write?”

“Of course, and I hope to hear back from you.”

“Even in the fall?”

Claude grinned. “Especially then. I want to hear all about how things are at Columbia. I’m so happy you got accepted. I know how much you wanted to go there.”

Emilie’s cheeks reddened. “Thanks, and I am happy for you for getting into the University of Cambridge. I want to hear all about that too.”

Screenshot-2895 (3)

They then pull in for a kiss and spend the next few minutes doing so in the warm summer breeze. They seem almost lost in each other and I am starting to feel like a hidden third wheel. Not that I haven’t felt this way many times before.

Screenshot-2899 (3)

They then share an embrace; one they hold for quite a while.

“You know, if you ever decide to study abroad, England would be a great destination.”

Emilie laughed. “I will definitely keep that in mind. I promise.”

Screenshot-2902 (3)

Then with a final hug and kiss, Claude took off, leaving Emilie standing in front of the gate watching after him. My heart breaks for her. I can’t imagine gaining my first boyfriend and then having him leave me to return home. Another reason why I don’t do long distance.

Anyways, I guess we are all left to wonder if the two of them will really stay in touch. For Emilie’s sake, I hope so.

So that makes the end of this week’s posts. I can’t believe it, but next week will be my last post as Lexie. It’s crazy how time flies. That said, keep up with your guesses, because in just a week you may just know who Lexie really is.

 

Kisses,

   Lexie

(Code Clue: a season that brings warmth and sun, vacations and fun for everyone)

 

(Thank you all for reading and following my blog! One more week of Kisses, Lexie! Any guesses to the identity of Lexie Wright? 😉 )

 

-Evanglina

Leave a comment