Year 2: Post 8: Valentine’s Day! Part 3

Hey Queendalers! So here is the post you have been waiting for. I will not stall any longer. Right on to the news!

screenshot-855-2

So the Maxwells and the Nelsons are not the only ones I saw dining that evening at The Maxwell. Shortly after the Maxwells made their departure, I spotted Damien and Henrietta Richmond at an outdoor table. They were both dressed very nicely as they sat looking through their menus, but there was something weird about them. Especially on Damien’s side. He looked a bit…well, tense.

screenshot-857-2

He kept that same facial expression even when the chef came to the table to take their orders and then leave. Something was clearly up and I was itching to know exactly what it was.

screenshot-858-2

“Lovely evening we’re having,” Henrietta said finally.

Damien just nodded without saying a word.

“It is nice to go out without the kids. Isn’t it?”

Again, Damien just nodded and just sat in silence. It was so strange. I had never seen him like that. Clearly something was going on, and I couldn’t help but wonder if it had something to do with Henrietta’s big secret.

screenshot-863-2

Finally, the server brought them their meals and they began to eat. Henrietta then started going off about how excited she was for them to be out and how Erica had done a wonderful job fixing up The Maxwell. That at least got a response from Damien, who noted that Erica had outdone herself with the chef she hired as well. That seemed to break some of the tension and they continued going on about the restaurant for the duration of their meal.

screenshot-865-2

It was only during dessert, that the tension rose again. Henrietta had just started talking about changes and mentioned how she couldn’t wait for them to move into their new home. Damien started to look tense once again. She then continued saying how wonderful it was going to be and how she hoped the papers would be finalized in the next few weeks.

“That’s a bit soon, don’t you think?” Damien asked slowly. “I mean, after all, we are still looking for someone to buy our current home. We only put it on the market a week ago.”

screenshot-867-2

Henrietta smiled. “I know, but isn’t that what real estate agents are for? We can just leave it to them. No reason for us to put our dream house on hold. The quicker we finish all that paper work, the faster we can get to moving on with our lives.”

screenshot-870-2

Damien looked like he was going to say something back, but then his phone began to ring. He then excused himself from the table and wandered off to take the call. If I am being totally honest, I don’t trust a word coming out of that woman’s mouth. It is clear that she is totally up to something. Why else would she be pushing so hard for them to move into that gigantic new house? What was she trying to do?

screenshot-875-2

It was difficult to hear what Damien was saying, for suddenly the restaurant speakers got really loud. But I did make up a few words. He listened quietly for a long time before I saw his mouth make the words, “You’re sure?” and then “Thank you.” He then hung up his phone.

screenshot-880-2

For a moment, he just stood there looking deep in thought. I couldn’t help but wonder what was going on through his head. Clearly, it was a distressing phone call. Too bad I couldn’t hear who it was.

screenshot-887-2

Henrietta must have been wondering too, for she left their table and walked over to him.

“Care to dance, sweetheart?” she asked. Damien blinked at her for a moment and then nodded yes.

screenshot-888-2

They danced quietly for a few moments and it even seemed like Damien was enjoying himself. But apparently, it was all an act.

“So, I was just wondering,” he said, “did you by any chance call my lawyer in the past week?”

This question totally threw me. What a random thing to ask, especially in the middle of a slow dance.

Henrietta must have thought so as well. “Why do you ask?” she said.

“Because I got a call from him earlier this week asking if I was sure I wanted your signature on the house deed.”

Henrietta laughed. “Oh, that. Well, I may have said something, but I didn’t think you would mind. We are married after all.”

“Yes, but I find that a bit strange. In all the time we have been married, you have never asked for such a thing. Why the sudden change?”

Henrietta then shrugged. “No reason. I guess you never know.”

“Never know what?”

“You never know what will happen in life. I guess with the kids going off to college this fall and everything, it just made me think about life and changes. I guess I just want to feel secure in the event that something happened with us.”

screenshot-890-2

Damien frowns. “And why would you think that?”

Good question. I am starting to think that he is catching on.

Henrietta just shrugs. “Oh, you just never know. I know I am probably just being silly. I guess I just wanted to be secure. Even though it will probably never happen. We love each other too much.”

Damien nods and pulls away from her slowly. “Right,” he says. I can tell he is not buying one word she is saying. Which is making me think he has something else up his sleeve.

“Well, I think we should head home,” he says. “There are some things we need to discuss and I don’t think we should do it here.”

Henrietta looks like she wants to protest, but Damien is already walking to the door. He gives a fifty-dollar bill to the hostess and then leaves, with Henrietta following close behind.

I of course, do not want to miss the drama, so I tag along and follow them home. Besides, I had a big feeling what the talk was going to be about.

screenshot-896-2

It didn’t take long for the talk to begin once they had walked in through the front door.

“So I am going to give you one chance to tell me the truth,” Damien said turning to face Henrietta. “Is there something you want to tell me?”

Henrietta blinked at him. “I don’t know what you are talking about.”

“That’s not going to work on me. Not now. Try again.”

Henrietta looked at him curiously. “Damien, I have no idea what you are talking about. What is going on?”

screenshot-901-2

Damien shrugs. “All right, then tell me this. Why has Luke Wilson been coming here for the past few weeks?”

Henrietta suddenly looks stunned and I can’t blame her. This may be amusing to me, but she was probably freaking out inside.

“W-what?” she stammers.

“You heard me. Why has Luke Wilson been visiting our house? And also, why do his visits coincide with me not being home?”

“I-I-”

“You what? Luke Wilson is your ex-husband, is he not?”

“Yes, but-”

“Didn’t you tell me that things had ended badly between you two and you never wanted to speak to him again? Which by the way, you haven’t in seventeen years?”

screenshot-908-2

Henrietta looks like she is going to faint. You can tell that her whole world is crashing down around her. Although her eyes are darting all over the place looking for an escape, even I can see that the woman is out of luck.

“Y-yes,” she says weakly.

“So why has Luke Wilson been coming to this house while I am at work?”

“I-I…” Henrietta looks terrified.

“You thought that I wouldn’t figure it out, didn’t you? Well, just so you know, I installed a camera at the front door a few weeks ago.”

“W-what! Why?”

“Because, I got a call from one of the neighbors, that a strange man kept parking his car at their curb and would wait there before coming to our house. They said that they told you about it, and you said that you would talk to me about it. Funny how you never informed me, but now I know why.”

screenshot-912-2

Henrietta frowns. “N-now, just what are you accusing me of?”

“I think you know Henrietta,” Damien snaps. “Just how long has this affair with Luke been going on?”

Ah and there it is! I knew it! It was only a matter of time before he figured it out. Took him long enough!

“W-what affair? I-I’m not having an affair!”

“There is no use denying it Henrietta, I know you are. Now how long has it been going on?”

screenshot-907-2

“I’m not having-”

“Would you just tell me the truth and stop lying!” Damien suddenly yells, even causing me to jump. I have never seen him looking so angry.

“Damien!” Henrietta says in surprise. “The kids!”

“The kids! Did you think about them while you were screwing Luke Wilson in our house!”

“I did not-”

“More lies!” Damien looks like he is going to explode. “Do you ever get tired of them?”

“Damien, I am not ly-”

“I saw enough proof on the video footage,” Damien interrupts. “Not to mention, I received a strange e-mail a week ago informing me about everything going on between the two of you. Strange enough, it was linked to Luke Wilson’s account.”

screenshot-909-2

“W-well, did it ever occur to you that he could be lying? I mean he wasn’t exactly pleased with our divorce! He could have made it all up to try and mess with us!”

“Video footage, Henrietta. Of you and Luke. I checked it for the first-time last week. Never did I expect this, but now it makes sense. Why you have been acting so strange, wanting a house larger than the one we have when you claimed you wanted to downsize, and how you suddenly want your name on the deed. You were getting assurance.”

screenshot-910-2

Finally, Henrietta gets quiet. I guess she realized that there was really nowhere else to turn.

“I can’t believe you would do this after all the years we’ve been together. Now I want to hear it from you. HOW LONG?”

Henrietta is quiet for a minute, but then she exhales deeply and says, “O-over a year.”

Damien just stares at her speechless. He doesn’t seem to have a word to say.

“I-I’m so sorry Damien.”

He scoffs. “I’ll bet you are. Sorry you got caught.”

screenshot-916-2

“Damien, please,” she says reaching to comfort him, but he shoves her off.

“I can’t deal with this right now. I have some business to attend to in the morning.”

screenshot-919-2

With that, he turns and walks toward the stairs, leaving her standing alone. Where she belongs, I might add.

Well I felt a bit relieved. It took Damien long enough! A whole year! Just wait until he hears the rest of it. From their conversation, I can tell he still has no idea about the whole “Angel’s paternity” thing, but it is only a matter of time. Secrets in Queendale don’t stay hidden for long, especially one this big!

screenshot-1862-3

Well, in other news, I saw Ricky and Sarah having a nice romantic evening at Feng Shui! They went later in the evening to miss the early dinner rush. They were seated at a nice table overlooking the ocean.

screenshot-1871-3

They then headed up to the second-floor balcony deck to have some romantic alone time. I even snapped a picture of them smooching on the bench. Ooo la la! They are totally acting like newlyweds even though they are not even married yet! What will they be doing then?

screenshot-2526-3

They weren’t the only ones at Feng Shui. I saw Jake and Henria sitting at an outdoor table munching away at some stir fry. I guess even Jake could muster up a romantic bone in his body. This would have to be the first time I have seen him out at a nice restaurant with Henria. It was a bit unsettling.

screenshot-2532-3

I realized why a few hours later. On my way home, I saw Henria and Jake arrive with him saying he had some big news for her.

screenshot-2536-3

He then got down on one knee and pulled out a wedding ring! Evanglina, who happened to be in the family room at the time, leapt off the nearby sofa and hurried over. Henria looked so shocked like she was going to faint.

screenshot-2539-3

Henria shouted yes, drowning out Evanglina’s shocked cries, and then Jake slipped the ring onto her finger. Henria squealed and held out her hand to admire it. Not to be rude, but I can’t help but wonder where Jake got the money to buy her such a nice diamond. Drug shipment anyone?

screenshot-2550-3

As soon as Jake had left the room, Evanglina immediately began to protest. She brought up every point in the book, including what I was thinking (“You don’t even know where the money came from that he used to buy it! Aren’t you worried that it’s stolen?”), but Henria wouldn’t hear it. She snapped at Evanglina saying that she loved Jake and that she was going to marry him no matter what. (“Sarah isn’t the only bride anymore!) Evanglina was just going to have to accept it, seeing as how Jake would be her new father.

screenshot-2552-3

He will never ever be my father,” Evanglina snapped.

Henria glared at her. “Sooner or later you are going to have to get over that and accept him. He is all you have.”

screenshot-2553-3

“I will never accept him,” Evanglina said bitterly. “Yes I don’t have a dad, but honestly, I don’t really have much of a mother either.”

And with that she turned and rushed upstairs, Henria yelling after her. That poor girl has gone through way too much. Can’t she ever catch a break?

Well that is it. The crazy Valentine’s Day fiasco has finally come to an end. Wonderful for some, but hell for others, especially Brian, Marian, Damien, and Henrietta. I will keep you updated on what happens next! Because you know, Lexie will always get the scoop! More soon and Happy Valentine’s Day!

Kisses,

   Lexie

(Code Clue: It melts out in the sun, but during winter makes for good fun)

 

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

