Year 2: Post 28: Escaping the Marsens House of Horror

Hey Queendalers! So I am sure you are all wondering exactly what is going on with the Marsens since last week’s post. Well, I actually do have some news, for those of you who don’t yet know. Here we go!

So as you know, Evanglina hasn’t really been in school the past week. While everyone figured that she was just sick (and there may have been some truth to that), it would seem that she was at home because Jake and Henria were keeping her there. And of course, it only got worse after Kara told Evanglina about the possibility of Ricky being her father. Since that night that Jake dragged her upstairs to her room, Evanglina has not been seen out of the house. I’m serious! It’s like she disappeared. Kara and Derek have tried to see her a few times, but Henria always yells at them to leave and Jake slams the door in their faces.

Screenshot-2661 (3)

It is pretty obvious that they are basically keeping her trapped there, something that it would seem Sarah came to notice. After almost a week had passed, she made her way over to talk to Henria. It was Thursday afternoon to be exact. Henria didn’t want to let her in, but Sarah would not take no for an answer. She pushed her way through the door and into the house.

“What do you want Sarah?” Henria said rolling her eyes. Her face looked like she hadn’t slept in days. What on Earth was she taking?

“I came to see Evanglina,” said Sarah. “Kara said she hasn’t been in school for almost two weeks. She said she came over last week and snuck in to see her, but since then you haven’t been letting anyone in. So, I decided to come over to see for myself.”

Henria sniffed. “Evanglina is not available to talk right now.”

“Henria, I want to see her.”

“Well you can’t. She is very sick right now and she is contagious.”

Sarah arched her eyebrow. “Why don’t I believe you?”

Henria scoffed. “I don’t know, and I really don’t care. Whatever the case, you wasted a trip. Evanglina isn’t having any visitors, so you can just go.”

Screenshot-2662 (3)

“Listen Henria,” Sarah snapped. “I am not going anywhere until I see Evanglina. I don’t care if she is contagious or whatever you say. I want to see her. Now.”

Henria glared at her. “Excuse me, but this is my house and Evanglina is my daughter. You can’t just barge in here and order me around!”

“I just want to see Evanglina,” Sarah said again. “I want to make sure she is okay.”

“She is fine! Now get out!”

“No!” Sarah yelled. “You aren’t getting rid of me this time. I want to see her. Besides, the test results come back today.”

Screenshot-2664 (3)

Henria looked at her curiously. “What test results?”

“The results of the test I ordered to be run with Evanglina and Ricky. Today we should know the truth about whether or not he is her father.”

Henria’s eyes widened. “W-what? H-how are you running a test? I have not given you permission nor have I given you any sample of Evanglina’s DNA!”

Sarah shrugged. “I found an alternate way. I also happen to know someone in the lab.”

“I should have known you would bend the rules to get what you want,” Henria snorted.

Sarah sighed. “I just want the truth Henria, and so does Ricky.” Just as she said this, a car pulled up and then Ricky emerged from the front door. “Looks like Ricky is here,” she said.

Screenshot-2665 (3)

Ricky then knocked gently on the door and entered.

“Henria,” he said gently, “we need to talk.”

“I’m not in the mood, Ricky. I think we have said all we need to say to each other.”

Ricky shook his head. “I don’t think we have. I don’t know if Sarah told you that she-”

“Ran a test against you and some magical DNA she got of Evanglina? Yes, she has told me. So what?”

“So it wasn’t some magical DNA. She got it off Evanglina’s used latte cup, from when she took her and Kara shopping. And I received the results right before I came here.” He pauses to take a deep breath. “Henria…I’m her father.”

Screenshot-2669 (3)

I honestly wonder what reaction Ricky was hoping for. Maybe shock? Surprise? Horror? I don’t know, but it was not what he got. After those words left his lips, she just stood there staring at him.

“So what?” she said.

(Wait what? That was her response?)

Ricky looked confused. “What?”

“I said, so what?” Henria shrugged. “It doesn’t change anything.”

Ricky frowned. “What do you mean it doesn’t change anything? Of course it does!”

“How so?”

“Because this proves that she is my daughter, Henria! My daughter!”

Screenshot-2667 (3)

“Says your stupid test,” Henria protested. “How legit is it, really? You could have tampered with it.”

“Why would I do that?”

“I don’t know! I’m not in your head! But even so, it doesn’t matter.”

“It doesn’t matter?” Ricky looked extremely irritated. “Are you insane?”

“Oh please! You think you can be gone for all Evanglina’s life and then just waltz back in? Get real!”

Ricky looked incredulous and I can’t blame him. What kind of crock was that?

Screenshot-2668 (3)

“What the hell are you talking about?” he snapped. “You never told me I was her father!”

“And how could I? What with you screwing my sister back at home!  You chose her over us! So Evanglina and I had to move on with our lives!”

“What do you mean us? I didn’t even know you were pregnant! You left town and never told me! I would have never abandoned Evanglina!”

“Oh, so you just wanted to abandon me. Nice! Very nice Ricky! Gosh (censoring)! I wish I had never been with you!”

“This isn’t about me and you! This is about Evanglina!”

“And she is my daughter! So I get to decide who gets to be in her life and who doesn’t!”

Screenshot-2669 (3)

It’s amazing how this has turned into a shouting match. If anyone had been jogging by or even biking, they would have been able to hear their whole conversation. It was that loud, and also, the window happened to be open.

After Henria finished her sentence, she and Ricky just stood glaring at each other. Sarah looked totally caught in the middle.

“Well, I’m sorry, but you can’t decide that anymore, Henria,” he said finally. “Evanglina is eighteen years old now, and she’s my daughter too. So that means I have just as much right as you do.”

Henria scoffed. “Oh please, you haven’t even been a part of her life. In a custody hearing you wouldn’t have any say.”

“Are you kidding?”  Ricky raised his eyebrows, “If we were negotiating for custody, you would be at a serious loss! For goodness sakes, you are engaged to a man that allegedly imports drugs! He is on the police station’s watch list!”

Henria lips tightened. “Is that a threat, Ricky?”

“No! I’m just saying-”

“Because you aren’t going to take her away from me. No one is going to take Evanglina away from me!”

Screenshot-2670 (3)

The front door then opened and Jake came walking in. He looked from Henria to Ricky and then to Sarah.

“What’s going on?” he asked. “What is your slut sister and this a******* (censoring) doing here?”

Ricky turned to him. “Don’t you dare talk about my wife like that.”

“Oh, calm you nuts man,” Jake snapped.

Henria sighed. “Ricky just came over to tell me how he and Sarah had my daughter tested to see if he is her father. Apparently, the test came back positive for a match.”

Jake scoffed. “Really? So you’re that little brat’s father?” he chuckled. “That explains a lot.”

Ricky frowned. “I would appreciate it if you referred to Evanglina by her name.”

I noticed as they were talking, Sarah was slowly making her way around them and toward the staircase. She then crept her way up the stairs undetected.

Meanwhile, Jake just laughed. “That little b**** (censoring) doesn’t deserve to be called anything other than what she is. A dirty, little rotten slut.”

Screenshot-2673 (3)

As soon as he said this, Ricky surprised me by punching Jake in the face! Seriously!

Only Jake didn’t take that too well. He gritted his teeth and then tackled Ricky! The two of them then went rolling onto the floor. Henria just stood above them watching in surprise and awe.

The fight went on for a while with each of them struggling against each other. There is then a loud crashing sound and I can’t tell whether it was caused by them or from something upstairs. Ricky’s face looked totally furious while Jake had that killer look in his eyes. Scary!

Screenshot-2677 (3)

Finally, they both pulled apart panting. At that same time, Evanglina and Sarah emerged from upstairs. Evanglina looked horrible and terribly weak as she followed behind her. Her face was sunken like she hasn’t slept in days, and there was still a bruise on her cheek from where Jake had backhanded her; not to mention a few on her neck.

Seeing her, Henria’s eyes widened. “Evanglina! W-what-h-how did you-”

“I got her out of her room,” Sarah interrupted. “The door was locked, so I had to break in to get her out.” She gave Henria a dirty look. “She was handcuffed to her bed.”

Ricky looked even more outraged. “W-what?”

Sarah nodded. “I had to use a pin to pick the lock!”

“All those bruises.” Ricky was scanning Evanglina’s face. “How did you get them?”

Evanglina didn’t answer. She just glanced in Jake’s direction.

Screenshot-2683 (3)

Ricky turned to Jake looking livid. “Did you do that to her?”

Jake smirked. “Hey, some kids need harsher punishments for the message to sink in. Evanglina happens to be one of them. Only problem, she doesn’t seem to learn her lesson, as you can see.”

“How dare you!” Ricky made a move toward Jake, but he was too quick. Jake lunged at him and then the two them go at it again!

Sarah is totally caught off guard, screaming for Ricky to stop.

“We don’t need this! We have Evanglina so let’s just take her and go!”

Screenshot-2685 (3)

Ricky finally shoved Jake away and rose to his feet. “You’re right. Let’s just get out of here.”

Sarah then quickly ushered Evanglina out of the door while swatting away Henria, who was reaching to grab her.

“She is my daughter!” Henria screamed. “You can’t just barge in here and take her!”

“We aren’t! Evanglina wants to come with us, which I think is an excellent decision considering what is happening to her here! Also, she is eighteen years old! She can move out! And you forcing her to stay here against her will, is basically kidnapping!”

“I am not going to let you take her!”

“You don’t have a choice!” Sarah said, and then sighed. “Ricky and I are walking out of here with Evanglina and if you try to stop us, I will call the police.”

She then pushed Evanglina out the door. Ricky looked at Jake and Henria one more time and then he left as well, with Henria screaming at the top of her lungs from inside the house.

Screenshot-2688 (3)

Outside, Evanglina climbed into Sarah’s van and shut the door. Henria then came running out of the house screaming,

“You can’t do this Evanglina! You can’t leave me too! I need you! You can’t leave me!”

Evanglina just took one look at Henria and the house before turning away. Henria then stood by the doorsteps and watched Sarah’s car drive away before bursting into tears. I want to feel sorry for her, but I can’t. I am just too happy that finally Evanglina is out of that chaos.

Screenshot-2691 (3)

As Ricky and Sarah drove off into the distance, I couldn’t help but feel extremely relieved. I had been on the verge of blowing my cover to help Evanglina out. Luckily, I didn’t have to. Maybe just maybe, things might get better for that girl. One can hope.

Well, that is it for this week. The weeks are dwindling down and summer is almost on us. Also, graduation is right around the corner! Soon high school will be behind us. Let’s have a toast to bigger and better things in life. More soon my dearies!

Kisses,

   Lexie

 

(Code Clue: I snuggle in it at night, on the ground at a campsite)

 

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

