Year 2: Post 20: And The Father Is…

Hey Queendalers! So it looks like more of you guessed the code this time around, the “internet.” Good job, although I do happen to know that some of you guessed “website” which is also a good guess too. I will try not to make the next clue too arbitrary. Don’t want any more confusion and stress for you guys! Now time to juice!

screenshot-2050-3

So, with all the craziness going on with everyone’s families, I almost forgot to mention how Prom is right around the corner! Then again, you probably have an idea since my last post showed Derek asking Evanglina. Still, apart from them, no one else seems to be having their happy ending.

Speaking of which, I spotted Maria and Emilie at the fashion store downtown. I was a bit surprised considering the fact that Maria hadn’t left the house in a few days (well, apart from going to school), nonetheless, she was there and with Emily. They walked through the store glancing at the new arrivals and then stopped at the prom dresses.

screenshot-2051-3

As Emilie was looking at one of the dresses, Maria smiled and tapped her shoulder. “You thinking about going?” she asked.

Emilie looked at her and then shrugged. “I wanted to, but I can’t. Not after what Angel did. It’s hard enough just getting through the day at school.”

“The poems, right?” Maria shook her head. “I still can’t believe she did that. Well, actually I can, but that was so messed up!”

Emilie rolled her eyes. “I feel like everyone is whispering about it behind my back. It’s driving me crazy and making me lose my focus.”

screenshot-2053-3

“I know, but just ignore them. That’s what I’m trying to do about the whole thing with Adam.”

“How is that going?”

Maria sighed. “It is what is. He came to my house a week ago apologizing and everything. He even, well… kissed me.”

Emilie’s eyes widened. “He did? Wow.”

“Yah, but I stopped him. He wants so badly to fix it, but I just can’t forgive him.”

screenshot-2054-3

Emilie smiled. “You don’t have to explain to me. I understand. I still can’t believe it.”

“Neither can I.” Maria shook her head again. “I never thought he would cheat on me. I know he was a total player in the past, but he really did seem to have changed. I thought he loved me.”

“For what it’s worth, I do think that he loves you, Maria. I have never seen someone so desperate to get someone back. I mean, the guy has been coming to your house almost every day trying to see you. I’m not saying what he did was okay, but you can’t deny that he really does care about you.”

“I guess. I just wish he loved me enough not to do it in the first place.” Good point.

“Me too.”

screenshot-2057-3

Maria then pointed to one of the dresses nearby. “I’ve been eyeing that one for a while,” she said.

Emilie looked over at it. “That one would look lovely on you.”

“My mom still wants me to go even though I told her I don’t want to. Josephina too. They both said I would regret it if I didn’t go.” (And I am pretty sure she would!)

Emilie laughed. “My mom said the same thing too. She even bought me a dress a few days ago.”

Maria looked surprised. “Whoa, she is determined.”

“Very.”

screenshot-2066-3

Emilie glanced at the dress again. “I don’t know, I guess I just thought that maybe I would actually be going with someone.”

“Claude, huh?”

Emilie nodded. “Yah.”

“Well, I think it’s Claude’s loss. If he would rather go to prom with Claire or Angel, he is definitely not worth it.”

Emilie sighed. “I know you’re right, but it’s just hard for me to believe right now.”

“I hear you.”

screenshot-2065-3

“So, do you think you’re still going to go?”

Emilie shrugged. “I don’t know. If I do, I’ll be all alone. Evanglina is going with Derek after all.”

“True.”

“But if you go with me-”

“No way!”

“But Maria-”

“How I am supposed to go? I don’t want to run into Adam.”

“But you’ll be with me. And if Adam tries to bother us, I’ll tell him off.”

screenshot-2068-3

Maria laughed. “You, will tell Adam off?”

“Yes! We can have a girls’ night out. What do you say?”

Maria pondered this for a moment and then sighed. “All right. I’ll think about it. No promises though.”

“Deal.”

With that, they both left the store, chatting quietly about the upcoming school finals. Well, I do have to say that it is nice to see Maria out of the house. Maybe she is slowly healing from the whole ordeal. Still too soon to tell.

screenshot-1017-4

Now for the news that I am just dying to dish! The results came in about Angel’s paternity! I suspected such, when I saw Angel and Henrietta arriving at Damien’s house in the evening. It was the first time she was showing up at his house since he moved, and I figured Damien would only be allowing her to be over if it was something important.

screenshot-1019-4

So anyway, after Henrietta arrived with Angel, Derek greeted them and invited them into the house. They then all settled on the sofa and waited in silence while watching TV. I couldn’t help but think that just maybe Derek and Angel knew something was going on, with all the awkward tension between them.

screenshot-1021-4

After several minutes, Derek finally turned to Henrietta. “Mom, do you know what this is all about?”

Henrietta sighed. “Yes, and we will talk about it as soon as Damien comes down.” The three of them then got quiet again.

Angel scoffed. “Seriously? I’m bored out of my mind! Can’t you just tell us and get it over with already?”

“No, we can’t.” Henrietta looked nervous. “It concerns you, Angel.”

Angel frowned. “Concerns me how?”

screenshot-1025-4

Just as Henrietta was about to answer, Damien walked into the family room.

“Nice to see you, Angel,” he said and smiled at her.

Angel stood up. “Dad, what is this all about? Mom said it concerns me.”

Damien gave Henrietta a look. “She did, did she?” He then sighed. “Care to elaborate?”

screenshot-1033-4

Henrietta glared at him. “I was waiting for you before telling her.”

Damien nodded. “All right, I’m here. Now go on.”

Henrietta slowly rose to her feet and walked over to Angel.

“Angel, I don’t even know where to start. I’m not sure how to put this in words.” She then paused for a moment. “As I’m sure you know, before I married Damien, I was married to someone else.”

Angel tilted her head slightly. “Yes, I know. He was some dead beat. Luke something?”

Henrietta swallowed. “His name was Luke Wilson. We were married for a couple years before I met Damien and then we divorced. I married Damien a year later.” She then runs a hand through her hair and I realize she is getting close to telling her. “Well, before Damien and I got married, Luke came into my life again. A few weeks before I married Damien to be exact. Around that time, I was a bit nervous about marrying again and I had a bit of a case of cold feet.”

Angel raises an eyebrow. “And?”

“And, well, we had, um…relations.”

screenshot-1032-4

Angel frowns. “Relations? As in, you had sex with him?”

Henrietta shifts uncomfortably. “Angel, please.”

“Well did you?”

“Well…yes.”

Angel shook her head. “Wow, nice mom. So you cheated on dad before you married him? Very classy. No wonder he is divorcing you.”

screenshot-1031-4

“Angel, enough.”

Angel rolled her eyes. “So is that all?”

Henrietta bit her lip. “No, it isn’t. The thing is, that day that I was with Luke, was a week before I married Damien. Then afterwards, we went on our honeymoon and when we got back, I found out that I was pregnant with you. I never even thought about that fact that Damien…might not be your father.”

Angel’s expression changed from anger to one of total confusion. “What?” she said.

Now I don’t like Angel at all, but even I felt for her at that moment. I can’t imagine what it would feel like to have your mother tell you this.

screenshot-1036-4

Angel stared at Henrietta for a moment and then marched right over to Damien. Meanwhile, Derek was just sitting on the couch in silence, which is totally what I would be doing. He seemed at a loss for words.

“Dad,” said Angel, “what is she talking about?”

Damien looked at Henrietta as if he expected her to say something, but she didn’t. He then took a deep breath. “Your mother is trying to say that…I’m not your father. Her ex-husband, Luke Wilson, is.”

screenshot-1043-4

Angel looked dumbfounded. “What are you talking about? Of course I’m your daughter!”

Damien sighed again. “Angel, Luke has been visiting the house a lot for the past month and suspected that there was a chance he might be your father. So we ran a DNA test.”

“A-and?” Angel’s voice was very shaky.

“And…he is your father.”

screenshot-1053-4

“No,” Angel said, taking a step back, “No.”

“Angel,” Damien started, but then she began shaking her head furiously.

“No! Luke Wilson isn’t my father! You are!”

“Angel-””

“You are my father! You are the one that has raised me all these years! I am your daughter! The test is wrong!”

“The test is not wrong Angel,” said Henrietta cutting in. “I had them run the test twice and-”

screenshot-1054-4

“Shut up mom!” Angel snapped at her. “Gosh, do you have no self-control? You couldn’t just be faithful to dad!”

“Angel, don’t,” said Damien, but she waved her hand.

“Oh please! How can you defend her after all she’s done to you? What she has done to me!” Angel is on the verge of tears. “How could you mom?”

“Honey, please.” Henrietta sounded like she was tearing up as well, “I’m so sorry.”

“I don’t care! Just shut up! I hate you!”

screenshot-1058-4

After saying that, Angel took off out of the house and raced down the steps. You could hear her voice in little sobs as she hurried to the sidewalk.

screenshot-1059-4

Henrietta ran out through the door after her, calling Angel’s name frantically.

“Angel! Wait! Please! We need to talk about this!” she yelled to her, but Angel didn’t seem to be listening. Not that I blame her. This was way too much to take in all at once.

screenshot-1060-4

By the time Henrietta reached the sidewalk, Angel was already in her car and had started the engine. She then sped off leaving her mother standing on the sidewalk. Henrietta kept call after her until her voice sounded hoarse, but Angel was long gone. That will probably leave Henrietta taking a cab to get home. I definitely don’t think Damien will be letting her spend the night! With this turn events, it makes me wonder how things are going to go with Evanglina. Although in her case, learning she has a father who is physically there for her might not be a bad thing.

Well, that’s it for this week. I will keep you posted on Angel. Not sure where she was off too, but I will definitely be finding out!

 

Kisses,

   Lexie

 

(Code Clue: From an object with strings to strum a cord, a melody from within will pour)

 

-Evanglina

Leave a comment