Year 2: Post 5: Working hard or Hardly working

Hey Queendalers! I guess you guessed the passcode: library. Nice job! Now onto the news!

screenshot-2242-3

So, with the project partnering going on, things have gotten pretty interesting. As you know, Derek and Charlotte have been partnered together, but I haven’t really seen much of them out of school, until just this past afternoon. I spotted both Derek and Charlotte at the library getting down for a serious studying session. At least that’s what I know Derek was there for. Charlotte on the other, hand was a little hard to read.

screenshot-2248-3

While Derek seemed more focused on gathering the information they needed, Charlotte was quite chatty. She went on and on telling Derek about how different America was from England and even France for that matter. While Derek seemed slightly interested, you could also see from his face that he was a bit annoyed from the distraction. Not that Charlotte noticed. Well, at first.

screenshot-2249-3

After an hour or so had passed, I noticed that she started smiling at him quite a bit and tossing her hair back while laughing. It seemed like she was desperately trying to get Derek’s attention and while he did nod his head and smile here and there at something she said, he was definitely not giving her the attention she was trying so hard to get. After a while, she seemed to tone it down a notch and start looking through their research books a bit more. Poor girl.

 

screenshot-2255-3

Thirty minutes later, Derek announced that he should be heading home, so they packed up their things and put their books back on the shelves. Charlotte however, looked like she had other ideas on her mind.

screenshot-2277-3

“I think our project is going quite well,” she said with a little smile.

Derek nodded. “Yah, for the most part.”

“Well maybe we should get together again tomorrow, to do some extra work?” She blinked at him slowly while giving him a little smile.

She was totally flirting with him! If only Evanglina could have seen…

screenshot-2257-3

Derek shrugged. “Sure. Meet here at the same time?”

Charlotte grinned. “Well, actually, I was thinking about us meeting someplace else. I am new to Queendale, so I haven’t really explored the city. Maybe we could meet at some café and afterwards, you could show me around?”

She then tilted her head and smiled at him flirtatiously and all I kept doing, was imagine how Evanglina’s face would look if she was here watching.

screenshot-2262-3

Derek, who was quite oblivious to all her flirting, finally started to get the picture.

“Oh,” he said, looking a bit uncomfortable, “I don’t think that is a good idea.”

Charlotte frowned. “Why not?”

“Well, I’m kind of seeing someone right now.”

“Oh, that Evanglina girl?” Charlotte asked, raising her eyebrows. “I thought you two had broken up? At least, that’s what I heard from Angel.”

Derek looked away. “It’s…complicated.”

Well, isn’t that the truth.

screenshot-2272-3

Charlotte bites her lip and takes a step closer to him. “Well, we don’t have to tell her.”

Derek frowned. “What?”

Charlotte giggled. “It shouldn’t be a sin for us to have a little fun together. She just doesn’t have to know.”

I am so stunned to hear this. Charlotte, the girl that seemed so nice and so proper, was propositioning Derek to cheat on Evanglina! I knew there was something funny about her!

screenshot-2260-3-1

“I don’t think so,” Derek said, shaking his head. “I’m not that kind of guy. So, if you’re looking for someone to mess around with, it’s not going to be me.”

Charlotte then laughed. “You sure I can’t convince you,” she said, trying again to move closer, but Derek stepped back.

“Nope. I’m a one girl guy.”

I couldn’t help but do a little cheer to myself. Any of the guys at school would have jumped for a chance to be with Charlotte, but here was Derek turning her down! It was incredible.

screenshot-2259-3

Charlotte then sighed and pulled some of her hair back. “Well, if you’re sure-”

“I am.”

“But if you ever change your mind-”

“I won’t.”

Dang! I wanted to burst out laughing. Charlotte even looks a little pink in the cheeks! He really turned her down flat!

screenshot-2279-3

Derek then checked his watch again. “Well, I should head off so I don’t get home too late. We can figure out when to meet again tomorrow. Do you need a ride?”

I’m shocked that after all that he would still offer her a ride home, but it is Derek after all. He is very chivalrous.

Charlotte shook her head. “No, I’ll be fine,” she said, and then Derek nodded to her and took off out the front door of the library. I guess I can’t blame her though. Who wants to endure an embarrassing ride home with the guy that rejected you? Not that she didn’t deserve it.

screenshot-1123-4

In other news, I spotted Brian and Marian on the road heading to their counselling session. They have been still struggling along with each other, but it seems that they are making some progress.

screenshot-1126-4

They still have a long way to go, if by the way they walked into the clinic was any indication. Brian was far ahead, while Marian was walking slowly behind. Still, they haven’t been arguing as much lately, so I guess the counseling is doing something for them.

screenshot-1132-4

I happened to follow them up to the office and caught a bit of their conversation before they went inside.

“Please give this a chance,” Brian was saying. “Just try to keep an open mind.”

Marian scoffed. “I think I have kept a very open mind, agreeing to give us another chance. Don’t you think?”

Brian nodded. “Point taken. I just really want this to work.”

“Then you need to give me some breathing room. This isn’t going to be repaired overnight, Brian. It’s going to take time. A lot of it.”

Brian sighed and then nodded. They both then turned and entered into the office.

Well, at least they are getting better with talking to each other.

screenshot-558-2

And lastly, don’t think I forgot about the pics of Feng Shui! I was finally able to sneak in and swap some photos of the new Asian restaurant and may I say it looks terrific!

screenshot-562-2

Inside, the walls were papered red with a unique design. The lights are also dimmed, casting a red glow throughout the room. I could also smell incense burning which filled the air with a spicy aroma. In the center of the room was a nice long counter where you can sit upon stools to eat. I also noticed a large stove on either side of the counter which I assumed was for chefs to prepare dishes in front of their dinner audiences. Very neat!

screenshot-561-2

They also had tables as well; each with elegant flowers tucked into simple, but elegant, vases.

screenshot-559-2

They had outdoor seating as well, which I love! Want a breath of fresh air? Or to see the waves of the ocean (Yes! You can see the sea from here!)? Just enjoy a nice plate of sushi outdoors! Itatakimasu!

 

screenshot-564-2

 

Upstairs, just like at “The Maxwell”, there is a bar and seating for people to kick back and have a nice drink. Almost like a nice lounge. If only I was 21!

screenshot-565-2

There was also an area to hang out on the deck of the second floor, with domino tables and even chess. I think I even spotted a telescope for you to stargaze. I’m telling you, this restaurant thought of everything. I cannot wait to get in and get my munchies on!

Well, that is it for this week. Valentine’s day is next week, so I am sure to have a juicy post for you!

 

Kisses,

   Lexie

 

(Code Clue: Though it’s body is covered in thorns, the sight of its red hair fills me with love and warmth)

 

-Evanglina

Leave a comment