Year 2: Post 15: Family Affairs

Hey Queendalers! You guessed it! The code word was: perfume. I do realize that one was a bit biased since it could have also been cologne. I will do better next week. Well, this post is a bit crazy so I will dive right in.

screenshot-932-5

So as you know, there has been a lot of craziness going on at the Richmond house because of Henrietta’s affair with Luke, and Damien finding out. But if you remember, that wasn’t the only thing that Henrietta was hiding. The truth about Angel’s paternity has also been hanging in the balance and just over the weekend, it escalated.

It all started Sunday evening when Luke Wilson made an uninvited stop at the Richmonds house. He knocked loudly on the door and when no one answered, he went right to the back of the house and started pounding on the sliding door! I’m totally serious! He looked like a crazy person! He completely caught Damien off guard, who answered the door in alarm.

screenshot-934-2

After asking him what the hell he was doing, Luke then started demanding to see Henrietta and that he was not leaving until she agreed to a paternity. Now of course Damien had no idea what he was talking about and Luke was all too happy to fill Damien in about everything, including the affair, the paternity test, and also how he had apparently slept with Henrietta a week before she married Damien. No! I am not kidding! Luke just let it all spill out! He was clearly very furious with Henrietta!

screenshot-922-2

Of course, this did not sit well with Damien one bit. He was on the verge of hitting Luke when Henrietta came downstairs.

So instead, he pulled her into the kitchen.

“What the hell is going on?” He asked her angrily.

Henrietta shrugged looking innocent. “I have no idea.”

“Don’t give me that! Your Luke Wilson is out there in the living room telling me that my daughter may not be my daughter! Now you better tell me what is going on!”

Henrietta cursed slightly. “Look, I don’t know what he told you-”

“He told me that you slept with him a week before our wedding. Is that true?”

screenshot-924-2

Henrietta shrugged. “Oh Damien, that was so many years ago. Do we really need to bring up old memor-”

“Did you sleep with him?” This is even becoming a bit much for me!

Henrietta sighed. “I don’t remember it was so long ago-”

“Wow,” Damien shook his head. “You slept with him a week before we were married. So that last minute weekend away with your friends for your bachelorette party? That was a lie?”

“Well, not entirely! It happened before we left.”

“Wow.” Damien looks totally disgusted. “Was anything in our marriage sacred?”

“Yes of course!”

screenshot-923-2

“So tell me this, is he right? Is there a chance that Angel is not my daughter?”

“Damien-”

“Answer me!”

There was a long pause of silence, and then Henrietta finally answered. “Well, I really don’t think…well…there could be a very, very slight chance-”

“Oh my gosh (censoring).” Damien looked like he was going to have a headache. “You are telling me now, almost eighteen years later, after I have raised her and nurtured her, that Angel may not even be my biological daughter?”

screenshot-928-2

Damien,” Henrietta started, but he moved away.

“Who are you?” he asked, “I can’t-I can’t even look at you right now!”  He then turned and walked back into the living room.

screenshot-935-2

Luke,” he said, facing him, “This is all a lot to process right now, so I think you should leave. If you come back tomorrow, we can figure all this out.”

“I’m not going anywhere until I see my daughter.”

“You will not be seeing Angel tonight,” Damien said quickly. “I don’t want her knowing about any of this until we are sure.”

Luke frowned. “Angel is my daughter! She has every right to know I am her father!”

“Which is why we need to take a paternity test first. If it turns out that you are her father, we will go from there. There is no reason to bring her into this before then.”

screenshot-936-2

Luke didn’t seem to be understanding. “You and Henrietta are not going to keep me from her! I have already missed crucial parts of her life because of this! I am not leaving without seeing her!”

Damien now seemed to be losing his patience. “If you don’t leave, I will call the police!”

“Oh yah? Do it!”

Damien sighed. “Look, I don’t want to escalate this. I am not trying to keep you from Angel. She is upstairs sleeping right now, and I don’t want to wake her. This is her senior year of high school and she is already going through a lot of stress right now. I don’t want to add this to her to unless it is absolutely true. I will tell Henrietta to order the paternity test tomorrow and tell them to put a rush on it. Can you deal with that?”

screenshot-937-2

That seemed to calm Luke down. He stopped yelling and just looked at Damien for a moment quietly.

“Fine,” he then said. “I will go. But I want the test done immediately. No tricks. And when it comes out that Angel is my daughter, I will be coming for her.”

And with that, he turns and leaves through the sliding door.

screenshot-930-2

After he leaves, Damien returns to the kitchen where Henrietta was still standing.

“That was a good cover,” she said looking relieved.

Damien frowned. “That wasn’t a cover, Henrietta. I meant what I said. Tomorrow first thing, we are going to the hospital to order a paternity test.”

Henrietta looked shocked. “W-what? Why?”

“Because he needs to know the truth, and so do I! And most of all, Angel needs to know the truth.”

“But what does it matter? Don’t you love her?”

“Of course I love her! But I still need to know! We all need to know, Henrietta! And don’t give me that look! You brought this on all of us by your lies and deceit! You have no one to blame but yourself!” Damien then waves his hand. “Oh and just so you know, I’ve got a buyer for the house.”

“What?”

“Someone has finally bought the house. They will need us out of here in two weeks, so I suggest you get packing. I have purchased a new place and it should be ready for me to move into in two weeks.”

“That sounds good. Are you talking about the house on Starlight lane?”

“No, of course not! I rejected that offer.”

screenshot-931-2

Henrietta suddenly flips. “What? What do you mean you rejected the offer?”

“I mean what I said. From what I heard, another bidder has purchased it for a higher sum.”

“Well where are we going to live now?”

Damien raises his eyebrows. “We? No, no, there is no “we”. I am going to live in a new home that I purchased. As for you, I guess that is for you to decided.”

“I’m sorry?”

“I’m sure you are, but it’s a bit late for that. We are done Henrietta. I am filing for a divorce. And don’t bother with trying anything. I am already aware of what you were trying to do with the house. Get me to add your name so you can ask for half in alimony. You must take me for a fool. Thinking you could find a way to sneak past the prenup you signed. Pathetic.”

Henrietta looks like she is going to explode.

“You know, It’s a shame,” Damien continues, “I really thought we were something, but I guess you were not the woman I thought you were.”

And with that he turns and walks out of the kitchen with Henrietta screaming after him about how he was not going to get away with it. I just can’t believe my ears. I swear, the past two weeks have felt like I am watching a soap opera. Two infidelities, two divorces, what should I expect next?

screenshot-237-4

In other news, one of our readers spotted Claire hanging out with Charlotte and Claude at the downtown club. She looked a bit out of place; the twins were so chatty with each other over Angel’s upcoming party, that it was like she wasn’t even there. And of course, with the animosity between her and Angel, she was nowhere in sight. And is it just me, or does Claire look a little, well, lonely? Well, you won’t hear me complaining. Since the two of them split up as besties, things have been a bit calmer at school. Who knows for how long though. With everything going on, it is only a matter of time before one of them starts running for the other. Well more next week! Keep the gossip coming dearies!

Kisses,

   Lexie

(Code Clue: A face with two hands, pointing to numerical digits lined in a circle)

 

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

