Year 2: Post 16: Look A-likes

Hey my Queendalers! Sorry that my last code was a bit off from my usual sequence. Many of you had problems guessing it; clock. I’m sorry about that. So I have made the last post available for you to read without a passcode. I will do my best to make the next one better. Onto the news!

screenshot-581-2

So first things first, I spotted Claire having lunch with Erica at the “The Maxwell.”  It was interesting, considering it was the first time I had really seen Claire out with her. She was normally either out with Angel or Adam. She must be really missing Angel to resort to spending time with her mother. Not that I am saying its bad, it’s just in Claire’s case, it totally is.

screenshot-583-2

Anyways, Erica seemed delighted to be spending time with Claire. She was all smiles and chatting about how the restaurant had been doing very well for the past month. She even went as far as to say it was the best business investment she had ever made. All the while Claire just nodded her head and kept her eyes glued to her menu. It was obvious that she was wishing she was somewhere else.

screenshot-585-2

When the chef arrived to take their order, Claire was all too happy to interrupt and order a berry fruit salad, with her mother ordering some Dim Sim. I had no idea they even served that here. I guess Erica’s new restaurant really had everything.

screenshot-587-2

After the chef leaves, they sit for several minutes in silence before Erica finally speaks.

“So what’s new at school?” she asks.

Claire just shrugs. “Nothing really.”

Erica raises an eyebrow. “Really? Nothing exciting is happening for you?”

“Nope.”

“No new school events?”

“Nope.”

“Plays? Recitals? Anything?”

Claire frowns. “Mom, I don’t do plays or recitals. Not since I was like ten.”

Erica smiles. “I know, but, maybe you should. You know colleges look for those sort of things, extra curriculum’s.”

screenshot-592-2

Lucky for Claire, she is saved by the bell, well in this case the chef, for at that moment he brings them their meals. Claire starts eating immediately, stuffing her mouth with her salad as if to keep her mouth full enough so she wouldn’t have to talk to her mother. Clever.

screenshot-595-2

But not clever enough! After a couple minutes of eating, her mom starts up again.

“So, how are you feeling about the colleges you applied to?”

Claire rolls her eyes. “Mom, do you mind if we talk about something else. We’re eating.”

Erica sighs. “Claire, you can’t keep putting off this conversation anymore. We need to talk about the schools you applied too. The deadlines have passed and your father and I want to make sure you are all settled.”

Claire scoffs. “Well you don’t have to worry. I applied to all the schools that you and dad told me to, you know, Princeton, Yale, and whatever. And then some few around here.”

screenshot-596-2

Erica takes a bite of her food. “You don’t seem very excited for someone who is graduating. Why is that?”

Claire shrugs. “I don’t know. It’s just high school. I guess I don’t think it’s a big deal.”

“It is a big deal, Claire! Your father and I are very proud of you and Adam.”

“Yah, whatever. Dad seems more proud of him than me, what with his two scouts from Duke and Bridgeport University offering him scholarships for soccer. Dad has to know I’m probably not going to get into Princeton, Yale, or Harvard. It’s just not me.”

“But how do you know that, Claire?”

“I just do.”

screenshot-599-2

Erica gives her a look. “You seem a bit more negative than usual. Does this have anything to do with you and Angel not talking to each other?”

Claire clamps her mouth shut and plays with her practically empty bowl. Funny, I do that all the time when my parents lecture me at the dinner table.

“I’ll take that as a yes,” Erica then says. “Why don’t you talk to her?”

“Because she is the one who started it! If she wants to fix it, she has to come to me. I’m not the one apologizing.”

“And how is that logic working for you?”

Man, Erica is right on the money.

screenshot-603-2

As Claire sits in silence, a waiter comes and takes her empty tray.

“So you are actually telling me to be the bigger person?”

Erica shrugs. “Someone has to. Right?”

“Well, why does it have to be me?”

“It doesn’t have to be. I am just giving you advice. What you do is up to you.”

Claire stares at her mother for a moment and then rolls her eyes. “Whatever,” she says, but it is obvious that she has gotten to her.

screenshot-612-2

She then leaves the table and goes off to a secluded corner, one that I can still see and hear from. She then dials a number and listens. In the background, I can hear an automatic voice saying, “You have no messages.” Claire sighs and then clicks the phone off.

Wow, it’s strange seeing someone like Claire actually upset over a fight with a friend. It makes her seem, dare I say it, normal. Creepy…

screenshot-1796-3

In other news, I learned something interesting later in the afternoon at McDoogles, the fast food joint downtown. Evanglina was there meeting up with Ricky and Sarah Emerson (they are back from their honeymoon), the newlyweds. It was strange not seeing Kara with them, but I heard Sarah say something about her hanging out with Paul at the downtown gym again. That girl seriously has it bad for him.

screenshot-1797-3

The three of them were happily chatting with one another about the wedding from a few weeks ago. Ricky was saying how he felt that Brian had had a bit too much to drink, for his toast was sounding a bit too lethargic and depressing. Well, can you blame him? He and his wife are headed for a divorce! Not saying he doesn’t deserve it, but still.

screenshot-1799-3

Ricky then said something about showing some wedding pictures. Evanglina got excited and agreed to see them. They then spent the next ten minutes looking through the photos and laughing over them.

That is when Ricky mentioned how Kara had said something about Evanglina and Ricky looking alike in some of the photos. Evanglina took a look, and then laughed it off.

screenshot-1800-3

Sarah was curious too, so she held the pictures close and started to examine them.

Her smile then faded slightly.

“Wow, Kara is right,” she said. “You two do look alike. That’s strange.”

screenshot-1803-3

Evanglina shrugged. “Well stranger things have happened.”

Ricky grinned. “And I am honored to resemble your beautiful niece.”

Evanglina giggled. “Thank you.” She then looked over and spotted Derek, who had just entered, standing by the door.

“Oh! Derek is here! Got to go!” she said quickly, and then she hurried over to him.

screenshot-1808-3

Sarah stares at the pictures for a while longer before slipping them away in her purse.

“You okay, hun?” Ricky asks.

Sarah shrugs. “I don’t know. I guess I just find it weird. You and Evanglina really do have a resemblance. Seriously. It’s a little nerving.”

screenshot-1829-3

Ricky laughs and pulls Sarah to her feet. “ I think you are thinking too much into it. Kara has gotten to your head.”

Sarah shrugs. “Maybe.”

Me, I’m not so sure. With all the weirdness and secrets in this town, who knows what it could all mean.

screenshot-1837-3

Ricky then leans closer. “You know, with Kara out with Paul, right now the house is completely empty. If we go home, we could have some private time before she comes back.”

Ugh, do they mean what I think they mean?

Sarah grins looking bashful (yup they do!) “That sounds nice.” She then takes Ricky’s hand. “Lead the way.”

screenshot-1826-3

They both then leave the restaurant together, Sarah still staring at Evanglina from the corner of her eye. Trust me, I saw it. She is definitely still thinking about it.

screenshot-1810-3

Meanwhile, Evanglina and Derek looked overjoyed to see each other. I’ll bet they haven’t really been able to spend time together since Valentine’s Day.

“I am so happy to see you,” Evanglina said pulling Derek into a hug.

He smiled and squeezed her back. “Ditto. I feel like we haven’t really been able to be together since that chaos on Valentine’s day.”

That’s what I said!

screenshot-1817-3

Evanglina nodded. “After that whole thing with Charlotte.”

“Hey, you know that whole thing wasn’t true.”

Evanglina took Derek’s hands into hers. “I know. I know you would never do that do me. I can’t say the same for Adam though.”

You can say that again.

Derek sighed. “Yah, that whole thing is kind of messed up. How’s Maria doing?”

“Not good. She’s totally heartbroken over it. It doesn’t help that the whole thing spread through the whole school, and quickly too! I knew it would eventually, but I swear people were talking about it before that Monday.”

Derek nods. “Yah, it was like someone sent out a mass text or something.”

Or perhaps said something about it on a blog…Thanks for keeping my secret my Queendalers! 😉

screenshot-1818-3

“Well, she’s not holding up too well. Especially with him calling her over and over trying to talk to her.” Evanglina continues.

“I told Adam, he should give her some space, but he’s determined to talk to her. It’s just a mess.”

Evanglina smiles. “Well, don’t make it your problem. You have enough to worry about with your parents having problems.”

Derek sighs. “I think they are really splitting up this time.”

“I’m sorry.”

“Hey, it is what it is.  Guess now I really know what Paul is going through.” Boy does he ever. I wonder how he would feel if he knew the part about Angel’s paternity.

screenshot-1833-3

Evanglina stroked her hand up his cheek.  “You always do that.”

Derek frowned. “Do what?”

“Act like what’s happening to you is no big deal. It is. Your parents were together for a long time and now their divorcing. You’re allowed to be upset about it you know.”

“I am!”

“You know what I mean.” Evanglina smiles. “You don’t ever have to hide your emotions with me. Ever. I want to be there for you. I want to help.”

screenshot-1823-3

“You already are,” Derek then said, and he pulls Evanglina closer to him and kisses her. I have to say, watching them together is like watching a romantic movie. It makes me want to grab a bowl of popcorn or ice cream and eat it while cleaning my eyes with a tissue. So sweet!

screenshot-1825-3

They kiss for a while before pulling apart.

“So Angel is throwing one more house party before the move. You want to stop by?”

Evanglina bites her lip. “You sure that’s a good idea?”

“Hey, Angel will be so busy she won’t notice you slip in.”

Evanglina laughs. “All right. Sure.” They then take hands and head out of the restaurant together.

So it looks like Angel’s party is the talk of Queendale High right now. And you can bet this reporter is going to get some nice deets on how it goes! Stay tuned!

Kisses,

   Lexie

(Code Clue: Sound erupts from its two big ears, so people can dance to the rhythm they hear)

 

-Evanglina

Leave a comment