Post 34: One Night

Hey my followers. So things have gotten a little weird over the past week. It looks like my blog about the drug bust has caught the attention of a law enforcement official. I am not quite sure what is going on, but Lexie is not going to take this lightly. I will keep you posted. Now onto the news.

So, in my last post, I left off saying how Jake was left to take the fall for the drug shipment. The last I saw of him, he was running off into the woods as some cops followed on his tail. Well it looks like he was caught, but played it off as if he was out for a morning jog. The cops didn’t have enough to pin him with, so they had to let him go after 48 hours. So now, he is free, to Evanglina’s dismay.

Screenshot-3540

Apparently, Evanglina had been hoping that Jake wouldn’t be returning from his incarceration. But alas, her hope was in vain (sorry to sound shakespeare-ish). But that certainly didn’t stop her from addressing her anger. When Jake arrived home the next evening, Henria was so thrilled that they lost each other in a passionate embrace. Right in front of Evanglina. Seriously. She wasn’t even the slightest bit concerned that her boyfriend had been accused of helping with a drug shipment. Go figure.

Screenshot-3531

Evanglina, however, wasn’t having it. When Jake temporarily left the room, she walked right over to her mother and told her how she felt, which was very bold on her part. She told her how she thought that Jake was dangerous and up to no good (no kidding). She also said that she didn’t trust him and that she felt he was guilty of what the police were accusing him of.

Screenshot-3532

As you can imagine, it did not go well. Henria was furious with her.

“How could you say that?” she yelled. “Jake has done nothing but love me and you, since we got together. He has helped our family a lot and I trust him with all my heart!”

“Are you serious?” Evanglina raises her eyebrows. “Jake has done nothing for us! All he does is sneak off during the day, then walk around drunk all night and get in fights with everyone, especially you! And as for trust, I don’t trust him as far as I can throw him!”

Henria looks outraged. “Don’t you dare talk about him like that! He is the closest thing to a father for you!”

“He is not my father!” Evanglina screams. “He never will be!”

Screenshot-3534

“How could you say that? He has done nothing but care for you!”

Evanglina shakes her head. “He has never cared for me! From the moment you two started dating he has always wanted me out of the picture!”

Henria glowers. “Now that is not true!”

“Yes it is! You aren’t around to see the way he treats me! The way he yells at me, insults me and even hits me!” Whoa, now things are definitely getting real.

Henria sniffs. “That only happened once, and it was accident. Tensions were high that day with everything going on with me and Sarah.”

Screenshot-3536

“He hit me before that mom,” Evanglina says quietly, and as she says this, Jake walks back into the room.

“What’s going on?” he asks.

Henria sighs. “Evanglina was just telling me how you apparently hit her once before the thing with Sarah.”

There is a moment of silence as Jake looks at Evanglina with a look of hatred, and for a moment, I think he is actually going to confess. But he doesn’t.

“I don’t know what she is talking about,” he says. “I think she is a bit confused. She remembers the night I hit her. It was an accident and it hasn’t happened before or after that. Now where were we?”

Screenshot-3539

He then pulls Henria back into his arms and they begin to kiss again. I can’t help but feel horrible for Evanglina. Her mother clearly could win an award for worst mother of the year. Choosing your boyfriend over your daughter? Messed up!

Screenshot-3559

Evanglina must have felt the same, for she left the house immediately and headed for her bike parked by her garage entrance. It was getting pretty late, but it was clear that her mother and Jake were too into each other to notice that Evanglina was missing.

Evanglina then peddled off down the street to a house I assumed she was heading for…the Richmonds.

Screenshot-2892

Lucky for her, Derek was hanging out in his front yard playing some late night soccer. He rushed over when he saw Evanglina parking her bike. He looked a little surprised, but softened when she started to tell him everything. It was clear that they hadn’t talked in a while.

She told him about what had happened with Sarah and her mother, along with Jake’s 48 hour lock up (that I think he had already heard about on TV. Everyone pretty much had), and about her mother’s denial. Even as she spilled everything to him, I could tell it was taking everything in her not to cry.

Screenshot-2893

“I just don’t know what to do,” she said finally. “I really don’t feel like being at home right now. It feels like I’m in a nightmare.” She shivers.

Derek sighs. “I’m sorry you have to go through all this,” he says. “I really wish there was something I can do. By the way, how is it that Jake has already been released?”

“They didn’t have enough to hold him,” Evanglina says shaking her head. “It sucks, but I know he was involved. I know it! It would explain why he is always sneaking off and acting all weird when he gets home.” She shivers again. “I can’t believe my mom can’t see it. I feel so unsafe there sometimes.”

There is a long pause, and then Derek looks up. “Why don’t you stay here the night?”

Screenshot-2888

Evanglina looks taken a back. “What?”

“Stay the night with me. I don’t want you to go back there the way you are feeling right now. Stay with me. You’ll be safe here.”

Evanglina looks uneasy. “I don’t know Derek. What about your parents? Your mom and Angel both hate me.”

Derek shrugs. “They don’t have to know. They are all heading upstairs to bed anyway. I can sneak you in and then out in the morning before they get up. They will never even know you were here.”

“I don’t know…” Evanglina bites her lip, but I can tell that she is really considering it.

“Come on. It will be fine. You know you want to.” He gives her a little smile and I can see that she is finally caving.

“Okay,” she says. She then follows Derek through the back to the sliding door.

Now that was interesting to me. Evanglina and Derek spending the night together? Wowsa! Could something special possibly between then happening that night? Stay tuned to find out! Lexie out!

 

Kisses,

   Lexie

Leave a comment