Year 2: Post 27: Enough Is Enough

Hey my Queendalers! So last week’s code was a little weird, but some of you were still able to guess it, “butterfly.”  Still, some of you did struggle with it, so I will leave the code for one more week for those of you that could not guess it. Well, this week’s post is a bit jam packed, so let me get started!

Screenshot-1510 (3)

First of all, I spotted Angel and Claire at Feng Shui Fusion on Friday night. They were perched on stools while enjoying plates of sushi. Claire was going on about her irritation with the events of prom night.

“I cannot believe that he ditched me for Kara,” she said, shaking her head. “I mean, its Kara! I can’t believe he left me for that piece of trash.”

“You’re complaining,” Angel gave her a look, “What about Claude? He basically made me look like some pathetic loser! Telling me that he had no interest in me romantically? He basically “friend-zoned” me!”  (Oh yes he did! It was absolutely beautiful.)

Claire nodded. “That was pretty messed up.”

“And on top of that, he also ditched me for Emilie! That science geek!” Angel rolled her eyes. “So, I think I had it a bit worse than you.”

Screenshot-1511 (3)

“Oh yah?” Claire looked at her. “What about me getting kicked out of prom? Everyone was staring.”

“Well you did start that fight.”

“That’s because Kara had it coming!”

“I didn’t say she didn’t.” Angel sighed. “I’m just saying maybe you shouldn’t have fought with her at the dance. You know how strict the principle was being about fights.”

Claire grumbled something about it not being a big deal and then turned back to her sushi.

Screenshot-1517 (3)

“Hey, no worries,” Angel then said. “This fall we will be in college and get to be around hot college guys. We won’t have to bother ourselves with these stupid high school guys anymore.”

Claire nodded. “That’s true. Speaking of which, have you heard back from your colleges?”

Angel suddenly looked disinterested. “I’m still waiting to hear from them. They should be sending me my acceptances soon. How about you?”

“Well, I heard back from Bridgeport University and Duke. They apparently both accepted me. I was a bit surprised about Duke. I got an interview and I didn’t think it went well. I guess there was something about me they liked.”

Angel seemed to force a smile. “That sounds great. Have you decided which one you are going to attend?”

Claire shrugged. “I’m still deciding. I do have some time.”

Angel then excused herself to go to the restroom.

Screenshot-1525 (3)

As soon as she disappeared upstairs, the front doors opened and Claude came walking through. Spotting Claire, he walked right over.

“Claire, where is Charlotte?” he asked. “She told me she would be joining you for dinner and to pick her up from here, but I’ve been waiting outside and she hasn’t come out.”

Claire glared at him. “I dropped her off at home on my way home from school. Besides, I uninvited her. This dinner is just for Angel and I.”

“Well, you should have informed Charlotte about that so she could have told me.”

“It’s not fun when someone messes with you, huh?”

Screenshot-1529 (3)

Claude stared at her for a moment in silence before responding. “To what are you implying? I don’t believe I have ever messed with you.”

Claire scoffed. “Maybe not to me, but you did to Angel. I know that you ditched her at the prom.”

Claude raised his eyebrows in realization. “Oh that. I was not messing with Angel. I simply told her that she had the wrong idea about us. We were just friends, but she had mistakenly thought we were more.”

“That wasn’t her fault! You asked her to the prom! That is asking her out! You are the one that suddenly changed your mind and wanted to be with, Emilie.”

Ugh, she says Emilie’s name like she has a bad taste in her mouth. My gosh I hate Claire.

Screenshot-1530 (3)

Still Claude pays her no mind. “Look, I didn’t come to argue with you. If Charlotte is at home like you say, I will just go and see her there.” He then turns and leaves, ignoring her loud comment about him being an “asswhole,” as he walks out. I swear, sometimes I wonder if Angel or Claire have any class left in their bodies. Not that they had much to begin with.

Screenshot-2556 (3)

In other news, I am sure you are wondering what has been going on with Evanglina since everything on the morning after prom night. Literally everyone is wondering that. No one has really seen much of Evanglina for the past week. I don’t think she has even been at school. Maybe she was sick?

Well, I found out the true reason that Friday afternoon. Kara, who had been trying to get into the Marsen house, was finally able to do so when Jake temporarily stepped outside for a few minutes to smoke (yes, you know what). Kara crept in through the back door quietly and found Evanglina cleaning the kitchen.

“Hey, what’s up?” she said, walking over to her. “I haven’t really seen much of you in the past week. Is everything okay?”

Screenshot-2557 (3)

Evanglina shrugged. “I-I just haven’t been feeling well.”

Now even I could tell she was lying.

It looked like Kara wasn’t buying it either. “Are you sure? It’s not like you to miss four whole days of school. Not even for being sick. Then again, Monday you didn’t look too good.”

Evanglina shrugged. “I’m okay. I’m just, um, not feeling well, like I said.”

“Is that also why Jake won’t let me or anyone else come in to see you?”

Screenshot-2559 (3)

Evanglina sighed. “I’m sorry, my mom’s just really angry about prom night. I slept over at Derek’s house and she is really mad about it. They both are.”

Kara frowned. “Since when do you care about what Jake says?”

“I-I don’t. I-I just don’t want any more problems right now,” Evanglina said. Her voice sounded a little strained.

Kara still looked worried, but she moved on. “Well, I came to tell you something. I’ve actually been trying to get a hold of you so I could talk to you about it.”

Evanglina glanced at the door. “Okay, but hurry. I don’t want you to get in trouble with Jake.”

Kara looked like she wanted to say something about that, but she seemed to decide against it.

Screenshot-2560 (3)

“So I heard my mother talking the other day about you and Ricky. It was so weird. She was on the phone with someone and she said something about them needing to hurry with some type of test results.”

Evanglina’s eyebrows furrowed. “Test results?”

Kara nodded. “Yes. She was really annoyed about it too. She said that she had asked them to put a rush on it, because Ricky needed to know sooner rather than later. It seemed really important to her.”

“That’s weird.”

“I thought so too, but then I started thinking about back when I was talking to Ricky and I said that you and him looked alike. Well, he told me that my mom seemed to really think so and was obsessing over it. Now, he’s been talking about it a lot too.”

Screenshot-2563 (3)

“What are you saying?”

Kara swallowed. “I’m saying, I think my mom thinks that Ricky is…your dad.”

Evanglina’s eyes widened as soon as Kara said this. “Wh-what?”

Kara shrugged. “I know, it sounds crazy, but I really think she believes it! And I’ll bet that those test results are to prove it.”

Evanglina looked so shocked, that I was afraid she might faint. “She-she thinks Ricky, is m-my…”

“Your father. And honestly? I think Ricky does so too.” Kara then smiled. “It’s weird to think about, right? That said, it would explain why your mom hates the fact that he is married to my mom. Especially, if she has known all this time.”

“My mom probably doesn’t know. She couldn’t. That would mean that she would have kept me from him for all these years. She may have problems, but she wouldn’t do that to me. Right?”

Kara was about to answer when the front door started to open.

Kara jumped. “I should go! I don’t want to get you in anymore trouble. Call me, me okay? And call Derek. He’s really worried about you.” She then slipped out through the back door.

Screenshot-2645 (3)

Okay, now here is where things got crazy. Henria, as it turns out, was at home the whole time! She was upstairs and after Kara left, she came slowly down the stairs. Jake coughing a bit from his joint, came walking in through the front door.

Evanglina took a deep breath and walked over to Henria.

“Mom, I need to ask you something.”

Henria turned around. “What do you want, Evanglina?”

“I need to know something.” She then paused and swallowed sharply. “Is Ricky Emerson, Sarah’s new husband…is he my father?”

Screenshot-2648 (3)

Henria nearly choked. “W-what? Why would you ask me that?”

“Well, I was talking to Kara the other-”

“Kara! I should have known! She was the one that started all this nonsense!”

“No mom! That’s not what I-”

“I thought I heard someone downstairs. Was Kara just here?”

When Evanglina doesn’t answer, Jake stepped forward. “You better answer her dammit!” he growled. His voice was slurred slightly.

Evanglina bit her lip. “Yes, but-”

“I thought we told you that you weren’t allowed any friends over! Jakes bellowed. “Wow! You think you can just do whatever you damn well please, don’t you?”

Screenshot-2649 (3)

“No I don’t!” Evanglina cried in frustration. “I didn’t invite her over! She just came over because she wanted to tell me that Sarah was having some test being run. Something with me and Ricky.”

“It’s a lie!” Henria snapped. “Sarah doesn’t know what she’s talking about! She’s crazy and making things up!”

I am now convinced that Henria is high. I actually think she has been for a while now. Jake has clearly started sharing his stash with her.

Evanglina frowned. “She is not crazy! She just has a hunch and she is following it! And I want to know!”

“No, you will not!” said Jake. “We won’t take part in Sarah’s nonsense.”

“It concerns me! I need to know!”

“You do not!”

“I do if he is my father!”

“He isn’t!” Henria shouted, but I don’t think she is even believable anymore.

“Look at what you’re doing!” Jake said, glaring at Evanglina. “You’re upsetting your mother! All for the stupid lie your slut aunt is telling. What an ungrateful waste of space!”

Screenshot-2652 (3)

After he says this, Evanglina stared at him for a moment in shock. “I can’t believe you said that.” She then looked at Henria. “Mom? Aren’t you going to say something?”

“She won’t,” Jake interrupted. “She knows the truth. How despicable you are. Selfish, disgusting little brat.”

Evanglina shook her head. “You know what? I can’t take this anymore! I have put up with all this long enough! I thought I could handle it until graduation, but I can’t! I have had it! I’m moving out!”

Screenshot-2653 (3)

Jake looked pleased. “Good riddance,” he started, but Henria on the other hand, didn’t seem to like the idea.

“Oh, you are, are you?” she asked. “And where exactly are you going to live? Shack up with your boyfriend?”

Jake scoffed. “Yah, and probably end up diseased or pregnant.”

Evanglina rolled her eyes. “No, I’m going to live with Auntie Sarah. And possibly…my father.”

“RICKY IS NOT YOUR FATHER!” Henria screamed. She was on the verge of being hysterical. “HE is not a part of our family! HE is with Sarah! Not us! So just let it go!”

“Never!” Evanglina screamed back. “I’m moving out right now and I am never, EVER coming back!”

“NO YOU ARE NOT!”

“YES I AM!”

Screenshot-2658 (3)

And like usual, just as Evanglina finished saying this, Jake stepped forward and backhanded her hard across the face. Only this time, even I could see that he left a mark. I then noticed that he was wearing some type of ring on his finger and it totally scraped her face during the hit. There was a long gash on Evanglina’s cheek and blood was starting to seep through. But Jake didn’t stop there. He slapped Evanglina several more times and when she fell, he began to kick her body roughly. I literally watched in horror as Jake beat Evanglina up and her mother just stood watching without lifting a finger to help her. Seriously! She just stood there watching like her mind was somewhere else. I was on the verge of calling the police, when Jake finally stopped.

Screenshot-2656 (3)

Evanglina slowly rose to her feet wobbling severely. Her eyes were wide in shock.

“I told you that you hadn’t seen anything yet,” Jake sneered. “And if you ever talk like that to your mother again, I can do much, much worse. Keep going and you might just not be able to use those legs for a while.”

Whoa. Whooooaaaa. Did Jake just threaten her?

Screenshot-2654 (3)

Evanglina’s eyes slowly filled up with tears. “I’m out of here!”  she said and tried to move toward the door, but Henria blocked her.

“No! I’m not going to let you run off to my b**** (censoring) of a sister! You are staying here!”

“I said I’m leaving!”

Evanglina then forced her way around her.

“I don’t think so,” Jake said, blocking Evanglina as well. “Personally, I don’t care what happens to you, but if Henria wants you to stay here, then you’re staying.”

Evanglina looked at him in disbelief. “You can’t force me to stay here! I am eighteen years old!”

Jake just smirked at her. “You want to bet?”

He then grabbed Evanglina by the arm and pulled her up the stairs. You could hear Evanglina’s screams and shouts as he dragged her up the staircase while yelling, “Shut up or I’ll give you something to shout about!” Then silence when her bedroom door closed loudly.

Now I have to say, I am left in a position of confusion. On one hand, I am just a blogger who reports what I see and remains out of the conflicts, but what if I see something that is serious? What then? Do I get involved and do something about it? Or do I watch for the situation to play out?

Well, for now, I will be keeping a close eye on the Marsens as I figure out how to approach this. Meanwhile, please feel free to forward this to anyone you think can help. Violence should never be tolerated, especially not from parents to children. And from the way things are going, Evanglina is going to need all the help she can get to get out of this situation.

Kisses,

   Lexie

 

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

