Year 2: Post 30: Looking Up

Hey Queendalers! Code word for this week, is “calendar.” I thought it was fitting considering how fast time has been flying by. In just a month, school will be out for the summer! Life is crazy, huh? Well I won’t waste any time with my personal rambling. Let’s get right to it!

Screenshot-752 (2)

So Henrietta was spotted at “The Maxwell” earlier this week. She was having lunch with a friend, one I can only assume was from work. Henrietta has now turned from her life as a lady of leisure and to become a receptionist at one of the local salons. And from the conversation she was having, she wasn’t too happy about it.

Screenshot-759 (2)

“And that woman wouldn’t know a brush if it hit her in the face,” Henrietta was saying about a customer. “I’m telling you Lisa, the most outrageous people show up at the salon. I don’t know how you have put up with it all these years.”

Lisa rolled her eyes. “Tell me about it. I swear, some people shouldn’t even be allowed in there. I have to fix her split ends and her horribly frizzy up do, and she has the nerve to give me attitude? They are the worst.”

“I miss the days when I wouldn’t have to associate with such people.”

Lisa shrugged. “Well, you had a good thing going with Damien. Shame you wasted it doing that thing with Luke.”

Screenshot-760 (2)

Henrietta frowned. “Excuse me?”

Lisa smiled. “I’m sorry to give you some tough love, but none of this would have happened if you had just stopped this thing with Luke when I told you to.”

“I did stop the thing with Luke!”

“Did you? Did you really? Henrietta, you kept your affair with him going on until a few months ago.”

“I did not!”

“You only stopped it when he started that whole thing about being Angel’s real father, which ended up being true. By the way, how are things going with the two of them?”

Screenshot-757 (2)

Henrietta sighed. “How you would expect them to. Angel is refusing to speak to him.”

“Well, I can’t blame her. I’ll bet Luke is like a stranger to her.”

Henrietta nodded. “She’s even said that. Nonetheless, Luke is her real father and he wants a relationship with her. He won’t stop until he forms one. He feels like he has been robbed of a life with her.”

“Well, he kind of was.”

“Whose side are you on anyway?” Henrietta finally snapped.

I am a bit amused by all this and am really liking her friend.

“I’m sorry hun,” Lisa said, “but I’m just being honest. Isn’t that why you keep me around?”

“That and you helped get me a job after the divorce.” Henrietta sighed again. “The way Damien is going, I’m going to end up with nothing in the divorce settlement. He’s basically making it seem like I just married him for his money.”

“And you didn’t?”

“No! I love him!”

Screenshot-758 (2)

“Didn’t you also claim you married Luke for that reason? What made you two divorce? Wasn’t it because he went bankrupt?” When Henrietta gave her a dirty look, Lisa chuckled. “Okay, all right. I’ll stop. I am on your side. It’s just you are in a pretty sticky situation.”

“I know that, Lisa. I don’t need you to remind me.”

They are both then quiet for a few minutes. I can tell Henrietta is boiling from everything Lisa said.

“So, Angel is graduating in a few months,” Lisa continued, breaking the tension.

Henrietta nodded. “Yes, she and Derek both are. I still can’t believe it.”

“So what comes after for them?”

“Well, Derek seems to be leaning toward Bridgeport University, but Damien really wants him to go to his Alma Mater, University of Columbia Heights. Angel on the other hand, I don’t know. She hasn’t heard back from any of her schools yet, and she doesn’t really seem to care too much.” Henrietta looked away. “I am a bit worried about her.”

Screenshot-763 (2)

Lisa grinned. “I think Angel is just trying to find herself. With everything going on with her, it’s not a surprise to me that she would be confused. I’m sure she will figure things out in time.”

Henrietta placed her hands in her lap. “I sure hope so. I just want the best for her.”

“I know. And I’ll bet she knows it too. She just needs some time.” Lisa then clasped her hands together. “Now let’s order. I’m famished.”

They then turn back to their menus and begin to order. I still can’t believe Henrietta has a job. Granted, it is a job that totally suits her, but still. I never thought I would see the day that Henrietta would have to work. Karma’s a witch, isn’t it?

Screenshot-241 (4)

Speaking of Angel, I spotted her later that evening at the club owned by Damien. She was there with Claire and they seemed pretty down. I am not too surprised since they have been that way since Prom. I’ll bet it is the first time that both of them have lost the guys they were dating. They won’t stop talking about it!

Screenshot-246 (4)

Upon arriving they headed straight to the Karaoke booth and started singing (well, screeching) song after song. And I mean from Paula Deana’s hits to oldies, like the spice girls. It was crazy and extremely obnoxious. Not that anyone said a word. I think they all knew who Angel and Claire’s parents were.

Screenshot-252 (4)

After thirty minutes had passed, the room started to empty. I think people had heard enough of their squawking and needed some peace. I even felt like I was losing my mind.

Screenshot-262 (4)

I was surprised to see Claude and Charlotte there along with them. Then again, they do live with Claire, so…

Claude and Charlotte were preoccupied in a game of pool. You could tell that they were desperately trying to ignore all the loud singing of Angel and Claire.

Screenshot-264 (4)

Finally, they finished and took a break to get drinks at the bar counter (thank God!). They both ordered virgin Pina coladas and I couldn’t help but be a little surprised about them not using their fake IDs.

“So, why’d you bring Claude and Charlotte along again?” Angel asked.

Claire sighed. “My mom made me. She said with them only having a month left here, we should spend some time together. Parents.”

“Tell me about it.” Angel flipped a strand of her hair over her shoulder. “My mom won’t stop bugging me about school, and, well…Luke.”

Screenshot-279 (4)

Angel then put in an order with the bartender for an appetizer plate and he served it to her a few minutes later.

“So, how are things going with him?” Claire asked.

“Luke?” Angel lifted her shoulders. “I don’t know. Okay I guess.”

“Have you spent any time with him since you found out he’s your dad-”

“He’s not my dad. Well, he is, but-” Angel broke off and sighed. “I don’t know, the whole thing is kind of confusing to me right now. I’m just not ready to talk to him yet.”

“I can’t blame you. I don’t know how I would feel if I found out my dad wasn’t my real dad. I don’t know how you’ve been able to deal with it.”

Screenshot-280 (4)

Behind them, Charlotte had started to sing some karaoke and was drawing quite a crowd. No surprise there. Charlotte actually has an amazing voice.

“I haven’t really been dealing with it,” Angel said, while taking a bite of some cheese from her plate. “Remember a few weeks ago?”

Claire shrugged. “Hey, you were in a bad place that night. I just wish Claude had been gentleman enough to take you home. I can’t believe he just left you there like that. What a jerk.”

“Well, I guess he only has eyes for Emilie.”

“Ugh, that freak.” Claire rolled her eyes. “I don’t even know what he sees in her. Have you been seeing the two of them lately? They’ve been all lovey dovey and gross.”

“I know!” Angel shivered. “It’s almost as bad as Paul and Kara. I totally caught them making out in the park this week.” She makes a gagging motion with her finger and tongue.

Nice Angel. Very mature.

Screenshot-275 (4)

“I can’t wait for this year to end,” Claire then said, with a sigh. “It has been the worst.”

“Tell me about it. I’d say it has been that way since the Marsens moved in last year. Not to mention when Adam started dating Maria.”

“Don’t even bring that up,” Claire said shaking her head. “I have been trying to get Adam to just let her go, but he refuses to. I just hope he goes to Duke University so he can be away from her.”

“I hope so too. Didn’t you get accepted there too?”

“Yah, but I’ve decided not to go. I accepted the offer to Cleveland University instead. That said, I kind of have other plans for after graduation. What about you? Have you gotten accepted anywhere?”

Angel looked down at her plate in silence. “No. I’ve actually been rejected from all the schools I applied to. I haven’t told my mom about it, I just said that I hadn’t received all my letters yet. I don’t know how to tell her.”

Screenshot-274 (4)

“Well, you need to tell her soon. She is bound to find out.”

Angel nodded. “I know, I just don’t know how. Honestly, I don’t really think I am ready to go to college. I feel like I just want to go out and explore the world for a bit first. If I went, I wouldn’t even know what to study or anything. I just don’t think it is right for me.”

Claire looked at her silently for a minute and then seemed to think of something. “You know, I might have an idea,” she said.

I thought so.

“So, I talked to my mom about me taking some time off before going to Cleveland University. I managed to delay my acceptance to them for a quarter and I talked my mom into letting me go stay with my aunt in France. Maybe if you talked to your mom, you could come with me! Can you imagine the adventures we would have in Paris?”

I sure can. They would probably wreck the city.

Screenshot-282 (4)

Angel looked up. “Really? You’d want me to come with you?”

“Of course! Besides, it would be fun to have you along. It was going to be a bit lonely going by myself since both of my cousins are going to a university in Barcelona. If you come with me, it could be us against Paris.”

Angel grinned. “I’ll talk to my mom. And you know, she just might agree to it. It beats me siting around and looking pitiful until next year rolls around.”

“I hear you.” Claire then glanced over her shoulder and seemed to finally spot Charlotte singing her rendition of “Blame It On The Weatherman,” by B*witched. “We should go. Charlotte is getting a bit carried away.”

Screenshot-277 (4)

And boy was she ever.

Charlotte had taken off with the song and was even hitting high notes. The audience that had left from Claire and Angel’s screeching, had returned and were cheering her on. I am sure going to miss having Charlotte around when school ends. She really has given Angel and Claire a run for their money. Well, minus them using her to break up Adam and Maria, and attempting to do the same with Evanglina and Derek.

Screenshot-986 (2)

Speaking of Evanglina and Derek, I spotted them cuddling under the stars later that evening. They were sitting in an old car that Damien had apparently purchased.

“My dad is hoping we can fix it up together. Like some kind of project,” Derek was saying.

“I think that’s sweet,” Evanglina said with a smile. “I think he just wants to spend some time with you before you go off to college.”

“Yah, probably.” They both then sit quietly for a few minutes. “So, how are you doing?”

“I’m okay,” Evanglina said, and then looked upward toward the sky. “Just taking each day one at a time.”

Screenshot-987 (2)

“I’ve been worried about you,” Derek said, gently giving her shoulder a squeeze, “especially when you didn’t show up to school for almost two weeks.”

Evanglina nodded. “I know. I wanted to tell you what was going on, but I couldn’t.”

“I can’t believe Jake did all those things to you.” Derek shook his head, and cursed under his breath. “He’s disgusting.”

Whoa, now that’s when you know he is really angry. Derek hardly ever curses!

“No argument here,” Evanglina said in agreement. “I was so relieved when Aunt Sarah showed up with Ricky. I’m just so happy to be out of there. Things have been so much better. It was so stupid of me not to say anything. I should have listened to you.”

“Well, I know why you didn’t. You were hoping things would get better. I’m just sorry that they didn’t.”

Screenshot-983 (2)

“I never thought my mother would just stand there and watch him do all that to me,” Evanglina continued. “She just stood there, Derek.”

No kidding. It was extremely unbelievable to this blogger as well.

Evanglina exhaled deeply. “I know she was probably high on those drugs Jake uses, but still. She just stood and watched! And that’s not all. She has always chosen Jake over me. I’m just so angry with her.”

Derek nodded. “I understand. I’m just sorry about all of this. I wish I could have helped you more.”

Evanglina smiled. “You have. You’ve been helping me since all this started. I never had the courage to stand up to Jake before I met you.”

Screenshot-997 (2)

After saying this, Evanglina leaned over and kissed Derek and then they spend the next few minutes kissing gently. It may have been a cool night, but it was definitely heated in that car!

Screenshot-993 (2)

“Well, my head is spinning,” Derek joked when they finally pulled apart and Evanglina laughed.

Have I already said how much I love them as a couple?

“Mine too,” said Evanglina. She then leaned over to touch something in the car and after, music began to emit from the speakers. Ironically, it was Paula Deana’s romantic hit song, “Without You.” “Can you believe that in just a month we won’t be high schoolers anymore?”

“I know, it’s crazy.” Derek shook his head. “I used to feel like high school would never end. Now, I don’t know if I want it to.”

“Hey, it’s not like we won’t still be seeing each other.”

“That’s true. After all, we are going to the same school.”

Evanglina looked surprised when he said that. “You’re going to Bridgeport University? I thought your dad wanted you to go to University of Columbia Heights?”

“He does, but it’s just not the school for me. I feel more at home at Bridgeport University, and of course, with you.”

Screenshot-988 (2)

“Derek, I’d love for us to be at the same school, but I don’t want you to be going just because of me.”

“I’m not. I’ve always wanted to go to Bridgeport University. I’ve spent so much time in Queendale that it would be nice to go somewhere different for a change.”

“That’s true. I’ve been mostly everywhere, but the big city. It will be a nice change.” Evanglina looked upward once again. “To be honest, I’ve always seen it in my future. Me graduating from a college in the city and then starting a life there.”

They are both then quiet for a minute.

“I can see that,” Derek then said. “I can also see you and me together, possibly, in a chapel…do you?”

Whoa…was Derek saying what I thought he was saying?

Evanglina looked surprised. “You mean, like married?” When Derek nodded, Evanglina grinned. “I don’t know…maybe. Life is crazy though.”

“So, you don’t see it?” Derek looked a little disappointed, and I couldn’t blame him. She kind of rejected the idea a bit.

Evanglina shook her head. “I didn’t say that. I just think we’re still so young!” She then laughed. “That said, I think that if you and I make it through our four years of college together, then yes. I can definitely see it.”

Screenshot-998 (2)

Derek then grinned and pulled Evanglina toward him. “I love you,” I heard him say to her softly.

Evanglina touched his cheek gently and leaned closer to him. “I love you too,” she said, and they began to kiss once again.

It’s then that I decided to take my leave and give them a bit of privacy, but not before snapping another pic of them. They are so adorable! I still can’t believe they were cheated from Prom King and Queen! Although, at this point the whole school pretty much knows that Angel bribed Greg Jensen. I’m surprised that the principle hasn’t asked her to give her crown up. He is totally the type to do that! Not that Angel would give it up willingly. After everything she has been going through, that crown is probably her one piece of salvation!

Well, that’s it for this week. Only a few posts left, and that means only a few posts left to guess who I am. Yes, you guessed it, I am a Queendale graduate this year! So time is running out for you, my dearies! Keep guessing, and I will be revealing my identity in my last post! Guess correctly and you may just get a shout out! More soon!

Kisses,

   Lexie

(Code Clue: “We’ve got spirit yes we do; we’ve got spirit how ‘bout you? Queendale rocks we got the might, come on Hawks get up and ______”.)

 

(Hey my readers! Thank you so much for reading my story! There are only a few posts left of Kisses, Lexie, so stay tuned! Has anyone figured out Lexie’s identity yet? Leave your guesses in the comments! More soon! 😉 )

 

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

